Imitation of Life

A journal about film, music, literature and any other form of imitation of life. Seeing through a glass darkly…

OSCAR 2010 FINAL PREDICTIONS

We are just some hours away from the big night, so it’s prediction time. First of all, this is not a wish list, but a list of what I think it will happen. The wishes and predictions coincide in some cases, like in the Best Picture and Director categories, where I don’t buy the big Avatar-Hurt Locker split theory. I truly believe reason will prevail and Bigelow’s film will receive the two big trophies of the night.

My wishes and predictions, however, couldn’t be farther apart in other categories, especially the Best Actress one, where right now I don’t see how the Bullock debacle can be avoided. I sadly believe that Sandy will win and will thus immediately enter every top list of worst Best Actresses in Oscar history. If Streep wins I’ll jump, cry and hug everyone that comes my way, but I think Gabby Sibide has a better chance of pulling an upset. It’s by far the lesser evil in this execrable situation.

Have a look at my predictions, leave your own or any comment and, above all, enjoy the night. Whatever it happens, we’ll always have Meryl.

A.

Best Picture: The Hurt Locker

Best Director: Kathryn Bigelow

Best Actor: Jeff Bridges

Best Actress: Sandra Bullock

Best Supporting Actor: Christoph Walz

Best Supporting Actress: Mo’Nique

Best Original Scrennplay: The Hurt Locker

Best Adapted Screenplay: Up in the Air

Best Foreign Film: The White Ribbon

Best Animated Film: Up

Best Original Score: Up

Best Song: The Weary Kind (Crazy Heart)

Best Editing: The Hurt Locker

Best Cinematography: The Hurt Locker

Best Sound Mixing: Avatar

Best Sound Editing: The Hurt Locker

Best Visual Effects: Avatar

Best Makeup: Star Treck

Best Costume Design: The Young Victoria

Best Art Direction: Avatar

Best Documentary Film: The Cove

Best Live Action Short: The Door

Best Animated Short: A Matter of Loaf and Death

Best Documentary Short: China’s Unnatural Disaster: The Tears of Sichuan Province

Filed under: Awards, OSCAR BUZZ 2010, ,

5 Responses

  1. tonio says:

    Hi Alberto!!

    Now, the time has come and, as I told you before, I am going to leave my predictions only in the categories I feel I’m entitled to. I have seen several of the nominated films but I am not an expert to predict some of the categories…

    Best Director: Miss Bigelow

    Best Picture: The Hurt Locker (I also think that we can trust Hollywood not being politically correct tonite, there are past evidences that have built up that confidence)

    Best Actor: Jeff Bridges (happily)

    Best Actress: Meryl Streep; I think that Bullock made a good job but winning the Oscar could be really dissapointing… although I know you are experiencing that fear since long before.

    Best Supporting Actor: I haven’t seen all the performances

    Best Supporting Actress: Mo’Nique (no doubt)

    Best Adapted Screenplay: Up in the air (Here I would like Nick Hornby’s option to become an Oscar, but I don’t think he may have any chance at all…)

    Best Animated Film: Up (a good pick to spend 90 minutes at the cinema)

    Best Costume Design: The Young Victoria.

    As for Avatar, all the special effects, visual effects, sound mixing and so on and so forth will do, and my only fears come from the things I’ve read at the international media saying that it is a free way to represent the conflict between Israel and Palestina, or the story of willingness to improve, or self-improvement capacity and all that things that may influence on a decision making process…

    Fingers crossed and enjoy your night! Cheers from Cluj-Napoca, Transylvania!!

  2. Hope Lange says:

    Hi! my respectful age and family duties will not allow me to watch the ceremony (and my TV cable, as well). Ok for Bullock and Waltz who will win “si Dios no lo remedia” but if Meryl or Stanley Tucci got it, I will stop eating chocolate at no matter what time of the day…given that I do not smoke I have to find something to promise! Give my regards to Tomas

  3. Rostislav says:

    Well, my predictions:

    Best Picture – THE HURT LOCKER
    Best Directing – Kathryn Bigelow
    Best Actor – Jeff Bridges
    Best Actress – MERYL STREEP
    Best Supporting Actor – Christoph Waltz
    Best Supporting Actress – Mo’Nique
    Best Original Screenplay – The Hurt Locker
    Best Adapted Screenplay – Up in the Air
    Best Cinematography – The Hurt Locker
    Best Film Editing – The Hurt Locker
    Best Original Score – Fantastic Mr. Fox
    Best Original Song – Crazy Heart
    Best Art Direction – Avatar
    Best Costume Design – The Young Victoria
    Best Sound Mixing – The Hurt Locker
    Best Sound Editing – Avatar
    Best Visual Effects – Avatar
    Best Make-up – THE YOUNG VICTORIA
    Best Animated Feature – Up
    Best Foreign Language Film – UN PROPHETE
    Best Documentary Feature – THE COVE
    Best Documentary Short – MUSIC BY PRUDENCE
    Best Live Action Short – THE DOOR
    Best Animated Short – THE LADY AND THE REAPER

  4. Tanja says:

    Hola Alberto, greetings from Barcelona, the countdown has begun!!!

  5. Thanks to all of you for your comments and predictions!
    A.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15 other followers

March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Be Social

Twitter Updates

