Imitation of Life

A journal about film, music, literature and any other form of imitation of life. Seeing through a glass darkly…

OSCAR RACE KICKS OFF WITH HONORARY AWARDS

The Board of Governors of the Academy of Motion Pictures Arts and Sciences (AMPAS) officially kicked off 2010 Oscar season last night with the announcement of this year’s Honorary Oscar recipients. The Governors voted to bestow the Irving G. Thalberg Memorial Award for Production Excellence to Fancis Ford Coppola, and the Honorary Oscar to French director Jean-Luc Godard, to veteran character actor Eli Wallach and to British film historian Kevin Brownlow.

Although nobody can deny Coppola’s contribution to film directing and production (the Thalberg Award is bestowed to producers), I think it’s superfluous to present an Award to a five-time Oscar winner. I can understand that the Academy still feels guilty for giving the Best Picture trophy to Kramer vs. Kramer over Apocalypse Now back in 1979, but an Honorary Oscar is hardly the best way to make up for that mistake 30 years later.

I can find no fault, however, in the Academy’s decision to acknowledge Jean-Luc Godard’s work. None of his films, including the legendary À Bout de Souffle (Breathless), has ever been nominated to an Oscar, so this is a deserved recognition to a filmmaker who changed the way to make and understand cinema.

I only know Brownlow’s book The Search for Charlie Chaplin (I’ve read that there’s a TV series and a film on the subject) and I think it is a masterpiece in its genre, so I’m very happy for this most surprising Oscar.

As for good old Eli Wallach, I believe he is a terrific character actor and I’ve always loved to spot him in his lately small appearances in films like Mystic River or, more recently, in a short but key scene in one of my favourite films of this year, The Ghost Writer (I have to check whether it was an unbilled cameo). He always delivered perfectly fine supporting performances, most notably in Baby Doll (his film debut), The Godfather, Part III, The Good, the Bad and the Ugly and The Magnificent Seven or the less known The Lineup (in my opinion, his best), but I’m afraid none of them is that memorable. It is commendable for the AMPAS to recognise Wallach’s professional longevity, but the truth is that he never was nominated for a competitive Oscar, while other unrecognised performers (many of them, women) are still waiting an official token of acknowledgment.

I think it would have been nice to have at least a woman among the recipients, and if that was the case, my personal hero Angela Lansbury would be my first choice (I wouldn’t mind to see Liv Ullman or Gena Rowlands get an Oscar, either). I’m sorry to put it so bluntly, but I think Lansbury’s turn in The Manchurian Candidate alone will be remembered more than Eli Wallach’s whole career. I really hoped Lansbury to be recognised this year, specially after her loss at the Tonys (see my blog entry: https://imitationlife.wordpress.com/2010/06/13/angela-lansburys-tony-quest/), so I’ll have to wait another year to see my dream come true.

 Anyhow, since I don’t agree with this year’s all-male selection, here’s my ALTERNATIVE ALL-FEMALE CHOICE, very much in parallel with the official one in terms of origin, category and achievement.

AMPAS, take note for next year.

Irving G. Thalberg Award for Production Excellence:

KATHLEEN KENNEDY (six-time nominee producer of films like ET, The Color Purple, Munich or The Curious Case of Benjamin Button)

Honorary Oscars:

AGNÈS VARDA (directing)

ANGELA LANSBURY (acting)

ANN KAPLAN (Professor and author of film books from the perspective of feminism and postmodernism).

Back to reality, though, here’s two clips: one of my favourite Wallach film, Don Siegel’s The Lineup and other of Godard’s À Bout de Souffle trailer.

A.

Filed under: Awards, OSCAR BUZZ 2010

2 Responses

  1. John Keane says:

    Great to see J-L Godard get an Honorary Oscar! A Bout de Souffle hasn’t dated a bit, its amazing…

    Embarrassing that Kramer Vs Krmaer won out over Apocalypse Now but there are so many films like that- Ordinary People, Terms of Endearment, Shakespeare in Love that seem to win out over really good films, its why the Oscars is a bit of a sham….

    Angela Lansbury… I think her TV career has come to overshadow her few great cinematic moments…

    It is Kathleen Kennedy not Kathryn…

  2. Thanks, I’ll correct the K.
    As for Lansbury, her Tv career has not overshadowed her (many) great cinematic moments, at least for me.
    She gave truly great performnaces in the following films:
    1. The Manchurian Candidate
    2. Gaslight
    3. The Picture of Dorian Gray
    4. State of the Union
    5. All Fall Down
    6. The World of Henry Orient
    7. Something for Everyone
    8. The Long, Hot Sumer
    I think she’s one of the last Oscar-less Hollywood legends and it’s a pity she’s not recognised.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15 other followers

August 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Be Social

Twitter Updates

